HELP WITH EDITING!?

For the camera buffs.

HELP WITH EDITING!?

Postby Jack Rhys Martin » Sat Aug 18, 2012 10:00 pm

Hi there, could anybody please look at some of my latest aircraft images and tell me what you think? Where I am wrong and need to improve.

LINK TO IMAGES: http://www.flickr.com/photos/flightanimation/

Cheers, Jack!
Jack Rhys Martin

Re: HELP WITH EDITING!?

Postby Ian Gains » Sun Aug 19, 2012 8:51 am

Hi Jack, I like all of your shots except the QF 767 which could have done with better lighting as they are such a common subject. Personally, I wouldn't crop quite as tight as you have to the nose & tail of the aircraft, unless the shot ends up that way when you take it as you are panning the aircraft.

I'm new to this digi game after shooting slides for 35 years & it's good to be able to improve a shot after taking it, but if it's a good shot in the 1st place, you shouldn't need to do too much to it afterwards IMHO.

Are you shooting RAW files or JPG's & which program(s) are you editing them with ?

Cheers, Ian.
Ian Gains
Prolific Member
Prolific Member

Postby Jack Rhys Martin » Sun Aug 19, 2012 11:37 am

Hi Ian, Thanks for your Help, I didn't particularly like that QF767 shot either. All of these shots were taken facing east between 9-1PM, so i was facing the sun, I will upload the originals and see what you think. :)

I shoot in JPEG and edit in photoshop CS4.

I think I will re-crop these images and see how they look, what ratio do you also cropping with? 3:2 or 4:3?

Cheers Jack.
Jack Rhys Martin

Postby Ian Gains » Sun Aug 19, 2012 1:15 pm